What Happens Next? Our Johnson County Drug Crime Attorney Discusses the Penalties for DUI in Kansas
To be considered within the legal limit, the national standard is that the blood alcohol content (BAC) of someone drinking alcohol must be under 0.08%. If someone has a BAC over this limit and is pulled over, he or she can be faced with serious penalties and consequences in various states. Some states have gone a step further and have adopted additional laws that are more stringent than the federal standards. Johnson County drug crime attorney Jerry Merrill explains Kansas’ law on driving under the influence (DUI) below. Jerry is an experienced criminal defense trial attorney licensed to practice law in the state of Kansas.
What You Need to Know About Kansas’ DUI Law
The State of Kansas takes driving under the influence of a substance that impairs driving very seriously. Each year, thousands of individuals are either injured or killed in alcohol-related crashes on Kansas roadways — so much so that lawmakers found a need for very strict DUI laws in the Sunflower State.
In Kansas, an individual can be charged with driving under the influence of alcohol without actually driving a motor vehicle as Kansas state law penalizes attempting to operate a vehicle which can yield penalties similar to actually operating a motor vehicle under the influence.
The first DUI offense may result in the following penalties:
- 48 hours to six months in jail (or in some cases 100 hours of community service)
- Up to a $1,000 fine plus court costs and other fees
- A 30-day license suspension
- 180 days with an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
A second DUI offense may result in:
- 5 days to 12 months in jail
- Up to $1,750 fine
- One-year license suspension
- One year with an IID
A third DUI offense may yield the following penalties:
- 90 days to one year in jail
- Up to $2,500 fine
- One-year license suspicion
- Two years with an IID
In addition, Kansas is an implied consent state which means that a blood or breath test is required for conviction. If the driver refused to comply with an officer’s request for a breath test, the individual could face up to a one-year license suspension and potentially have an IID for two to four years.
Safe and Healthy Drinking Practices
Our Johnson County drug crime attorney knows that to avoid serious DUI penalties in Kansas, you should take part in safe and healthy drinking practices if you choose to drink, including, but not limited to the following:
- Educate yourself about alcohol and its effect on your body, including its impact on your BAC.
- Avoid binge drinking. Drinking too much too fast can contribute to alcohol poisoning.
- Do not drink and drive. Plan ahead and appoint a designated driver who will not be drinking to safely transport drinkers home.
Next Steps: Contact Our Johnson County Drug Crime Attorney For a Free Consultation
Were you arrested and have questions about committing a drug-related crime in Kansas? If so, contact a Johnson County drug crime attorney at Merrill Law Firm today for a free case evaluation. You can reach us 24/7 by calling 913-381-2085 or by completing our online form.